Skip navigation

Election Information

The 2022 Election will be held on Saturday 21 May.  

Your vote is precious. If you are an Australian citizen aged 18 and older you are required to vote in the Federal Election. The best source of information on the Federal Election is the Australian Electoral Commission website, though we've included a summary of key information below.

Postal Voting

You are eligible to apply for a postal vote if you are unable to get to a polling place on Election Day. Postal vote applications opened on Sunday 10 April and close on Wednesday 18 MayYou are encouraged to apply as soon as you know you are eligible.

For more information see here.

Early or Pre-Poll Voting

Early voting commences on Monday 9 May and closes on Friday 20 May. You can find out the pre-polling in Mackellar using our handy where to vote page.

If you can’t get to a polling place on Election Day you can vote at an early voting centre. A list of early voting centres is available on the AEC website.

You are eligible to vote early if you: 

  • are outside the electorate where you are enrolled to vote
  • are more than 8km from a polling place
  • are travelling
  • are unable to leave your workplace to vote
  • are seriously ill, infirm or due to give birth shortly (or caring for someone who is)
  • are a patient in hospital and can't vote at the hospital
  • have religious beliefs that prevent you from attending a polling place
  • are in prison serving a sentence of less than three years or otherwise detained
  • are a silent elector
  • have a reasonable fear for your safety.

The Election will be held on Saturday 21 May. Polling places are usually located at local schools, churches and community halls or public buildings. A list of polling places is available on the AEC website, and summarised below:

Avalon Recreation Centre: 59A Old Barrenjoey Rd, Avalon

Barrenjoey High School: 1-3 Coonanga Rd, Avalon Beach

Avalon Public School: 11 Old Barrenjoey Rd, Avalon South

Bilgola Plateau Public School: 148a Plateau Rd, Bilgola Plateau

Palm Beach Kindergarten: 1053 Barrenjoey Rd, Palm Beach

Newport Public School: Stuart St, Newport

Newport Surf Club: 394 Barrenjoey Rd, Newport Beach

St Luke's Grammar School: 1977 Pittwater Rd, Bayview

Elanora Heights Public School: 43 Elanora Rd, Elanora Heights

Mona Vale Memorial Hall: 1 Park St, Mona Vale

Pittwater High School: 1668 Pittwater Rd, Mona Vale North

Mona Vale Public School: 15 Waratah Steet, Mona Vale South

Narrabeen Lakes Public School: 1299 Pittwater Rd, Narrabeen

Lakes Parish Hall: 21 Lagoon St, Narrabeen East

Narrabeen Sports High School: 10 Namona St, Narrabeen North

Ted Blackwood Youth & Community Centre: cnr Jacksons & Boondah Rds, Warriewood

Nelson Heather Centre: 4 Jacksons Rd, Warriewood East

Collaroy Masonic Hall: 1183 Pittwater Rd, Collaroy

Collaroy Plateau Public School: 41 Plateau Rd, Collaroy Plateau

Collaroy Plateau Youth & Community Centre: 36 Blandford St, Collaroy Plateau North

Cromer Public School: Carcoola Rd, Cromer

NBSC - Cromer Campus: 120 South Creek Rd, Cromer East

Narraweena Public School: 78 McIntosh Rd, Narraweena

Narraweena Community Centre: 74 Oceana St, Narraweena East

Dee Why Public School: Regent St, Dee Why

St Kevins Church Hall: 57-59 Oaks Ave, Dee Why Central (Mackellar)

St John's Anglican Church: 87 Oaks Ave, Dee Why East (Mackellar)

Dee Why PCYC: 40 Kingsway, Dee Why North

Wheeler Heights Public School: 36 Veterans Pde, Wheeler Heights

Wakehurst Public School: 8 Glen Street, Belrose

Belrose Public School: 26 Ralston Ave, Belrose North

Forestville Public School: 7 Melwood Ave, Forestville (Mackellar)

Frenchs Forest Public School: 10 Ann St, Frenchs Forest (Mackellar)

The Forest High School: 135 Frenchs Forest Rd W, Frenchs Forest East

Mimosa Public School: 1 Mimosa St, Frenchs Forest North

Kambora Public School: 37 Woolrych Crescent, Davidson

Terrey Hills Public School: Cooyong Rd, Terrey Hills

Beacon Hill Public School: 6 Tristram Rd, Beacon Hill

If on Election day you are outside the state or territory where you are enrolled, you will need to vote at an interstate voting centre. A list of interstate voting centres is available on the AEC website.

Overseas Enrolment

If you are overseas at the time of the Federal Election, you need to take additional action to enrol and then access your vote. 

To be eligible to enrol to vote from overseas, you must be:

  • an Australian citizen aged 18 years or older, and
  • intending to return to Australia within six years. 

For further information see here.

Overseas Voting

For most Australians overseas, it is likely the option available to you will be to vote by post.

For further information see here.

Each federal election AEC mobile voting teams visit facilities, such as residential care, and remote communities where people are not able to get to a polling place.

For more information see here.

COVID safety measures are explained here.

Election safeguards are explained here.

Election statistics and information on previous elections are available here.

Voting process information is outlined here.